Geek News: Latest Technology, Product Reviews, Gadgets and Tech Podcast News for Geeks

Twitter Restores Block Functionality

Posted by JenThorpe at 9:48 PM on December 12, 2013

Twitter logoTwitter very recently made a change to what happens when a user blocks another one. After receiving lots of feedback, Twitter announced that it was going to restore block functionality back to the way that it originally was. It kind of surprised me how quickly Twitter responded to user feedback on this issue.

Previous to this whole situation, a person who has a Twitter account could chose to block another user. Doing so prevented that other user from being able to contact them. A person who had been blocked could not:

* Follow the person who had blocked them
* Retweet anything from the person who blocked them
* Send a Tweet to a person who blocked them
* Send a direct message to a person who blocked them
* Read the Tweets of the person who blocked them (at least, not directly through their blocked account)

Twitter briefly instituted a change to its block functionality. In short, the new change would have worked more like a “mute” instead of a block. You block a person who is harassing you. The new change would mean you would no longer see anything that person tweeted. But, it would no longer prevent that blocked user from contacting you, retweeting your tweets, or sending you direct messages.

Lots of people on Twitter were very upset by this change. I saw tweets about it that included #RestoreTheBlock. For many people, Twitter felt a lot less safe. The new change meant that the people you blocked (so you could avoid their harassment) could go ahead and continue to threaten you.

Twitter responded by putting the block functionality back to what it was before the (brief) change. Part of Twitter’s blog about this situation notes that they want people to feel safe while using their platform.

It appears that part of the reason why they made the change was because Twitter was getting feedback from users who had been blocked – and who were angry about it. Twitter appears to have made the change to prevent “post-blocking retaliation”.

The new change would have prevented a blocked user from realizing that he or she had been blocked. Unfortunately, it would also have made Twitter unsafe for the person who did the blocking. Kudos to Twitter for its rapid response to users feedback about their desire to have the block functionality restored!

8 Comments

  1. From QueenofHaiku at 9:42 pm on December 12, 2013

    RT @GeekNews: Twitter Restores Block Functionality: Twitter very recently made a change to what happens when a… http://t.co/Uaj8v3do2C

  2. From shawno at 9:45 pm on December 12, 2013

    RT @GeekNews: Twitter Restores Block Functionality: Twitter very recently made a change to what happens when a… http://t.co/Uaj8v3do2C

  3. From savage_news at 9:49 pm on December 12, 2013

    RT @GeekNews: Twitter Restores Block Functionality: Twitter very recently made a change to what happens when a… http://t.co/Uaj8v3do2C

  4. From TechNewsHQ at 10:27 pm on December 12, 2013

    Twitter Restores Block Functionality http://t.co/vzqVD7V65Y

  5. From SomediaCSO at 7:46 am on December 13, 2013

    Twitter listens and acts quickly. Twitter Restores Block Functionality http://t.co/VKRSPWUZ5F #RestoreTheBlock

  6. From mkdubai at 7:47 am on December 13, 2013

    Good move. RT @SomediaCSO Twitter listens and acts quickly. Twitter Restores Block Functionality http://t.co/p9xavpLvLh … #RestoreTheBlock

  7. From indigocat at 7:48 am on December 13, 2013

    RT @mkdubai: Good move. RT @SomediaCSO Twitter listens and acts quickly. Twitter Restores Block Functionality http://t.co/p9xavpLvLh … #Res…

  8. From TheSpencerPerry at 7:51 am on December 13, 2013

    @ShalomSeeker85 http://t.co/aLZ1yQgz8b