Geek News: Latest Technology, Product Reviews, Gadgets and Tech Podcast News for Geeks

KillSwitch Makes Break-Ups Easier to Cope With

Posted by JenThorpe at 6:36 PM on April 14, 2013

Screen Shot 2013-04-14 at 5.57.55 PMWhat happens when a person starts a new relationship? They share it on social media! They make it clear they are no longer “single”. Photos of the happy couple, at the places they visited together, clutter up both parties Facebook pages. Suddenly, each person’s Facebook page is filled with lovey-dovey comments, (which at least one of them will “like”).

What happens if that couple breaks-up? At least one of them is going to be really upset and emotional about the loss of the relationship. Unfortunately, when the newly broken-up visit Facebook, they are instantly confronted with photos, comments, and status that are painful reminders of what once was. Ouch!

A company called ClearHart has created an app for this exact situation! It is called KillSwitch. The app seamlessly and discretely removes all traces of your ex from your Facebook profile, including pictures, videos, wall posts, status updates, and anything that has been tagged with your ex. You won’t have to deactivate your Facebook account, and it doesn’t require de-tagging. Tell the app who your ex is, and it will do the rest.

What if that couple decides to get back together? No problem! The app stores all the deleted pictures from when life was lovely in a hidden album on your Facebook page. They can be put back.

The purpose of KillSwitch is to help people who have ended a relationship to move on. A portion of the proceeds from the app are being donated to the American Heart Association of New York. The ClearHart website says this is “So broken hearts can help broken hearts”. I highly recommend you check out the KillSwitch website (even if your relationship is going well) because the graphics are delightful!