Geek News: Latest Technology, Product Reviews, Gadgets and Tech Podcast News for Geeks

Flickr Offers 3 Months of Storage for Free

Posted by JenThorpe at 1:35 AM on December 22, 2012

Flickr from Yahoo!Flickr is doing a very interesting little promotion right now. They are giving everyone 3 months of unlimited storage for free. You can upload your photos to Flickr for free “all day, everyday” for the next three months.

“Unlimited” means “mostly unlimited”. Flickr is basically trying to avoid abuse of the free offer. The fine print reads:

During the Flickr Holiday Gift promotion, as long as you follow the Yahoo! Terms of Service and don’t trigger our anti-abuse controls, you can use an unlimited amount of free photo storage.

Note: To avoid abuse of our unlimited storage, we do monitor accounts for excessive usage. Yahoo! Limits the number and size of photos allowed from an account within a given timeframe. While our goal is to ensure that everyone benefits from unlimited storage, Flickr is not intended to be used as a content distribution network.

Here’s what the Flickr Holiday Gift promotion gives you:

* Unlimited photos (see note above). There also is a limitation of up to 50MB per photo.
* Unlimited viewing of your entire photo library
* Post photos in up to 60 groups
* Download your original, high-resolution photos – whenever you need them
* Upload and play unlimited HD videos.

To get it, just click the bright blue button that says “Get it now”. I clicked it to see if I could learn more about the offer, and unintentionally ended up accepting it. Oops! Once you activate the offer, it brings you to a page that says “Yay!” at the top.

It should be noted that I had a Flickr account previous to this offer, I still have it, and I let my Pro Account lapse a few months ago. My guess is that if you are brand new to Flickr you might have to give them some of your information in order to take advantage of this offer – but I could be wrong about that.

A little investigating revealed that by clicking on the “Get it now” box I have, inadvertently, re-activated my Flickr Pro Account. It is set to expire on March 22, 2013. So far, Flickr hasn’t asked me for any money. I suspect they will sometime in March, right before the Pro Account expires.

Perhaps Flickr is hoping that I, and all the other users that unintentionally re-activate their Pro Accounts, will love the extra free stuff enough to pay to keep it after the free 30 days ends. I kind of feel like I’ve been tricked into re-activating my Pro Account. So far, though, no financial harm has been done as a result.

Flickr may also be hoping that this offer of 3 months of unlimited free storage will attract the people who recently deleted their Instagram account after learning Instagram’s new terms of service. If so, that’s a pretty smart move on Flickr’s part.

4 Comments

  1. From QueenofHaiku at 1:38 am on December 22, 2012

    RT @GeekNews: Flickr Offers 3 Months of Storage for Free: Flickr is doing a very interesting little promotion … http://t.co/Yu7KVrFg

  2. From rosscraig at 7:50 am on December 22, 2012

    @GeekNews what about us who signed up for the Pro account? I think we should have a 3 month credit

  3. From JenThorpe at 1:45 pm on December 22, 2012

    @rosscraig, I looked it up. If you have already purchased the Flickr Pro account, and activate the holiday gift, Flickr says:
    “If you are a paid Pro member, your Pro expiration date will be extended by 3 months. If you are enrolled in an auto-renewal billing plan, the gift will be applied to your account on your next billing date.”
    http://www.flickr.com/help/limits
    So, basically, yes, you would get a three month credit.

  4. From December 22, 2012 | Stuff Jen Wrote at 2:03 pm on December 23, 2012

    [...] Flickr Offers 3 Months of Storage for Free Need someplace to store a lot of photos (that maybe were once on Instagram)? Flickr has an deal for [...]